Tragedy and Lives Changed Forever – part 3

My days were spent very similarly these next six months of his recovery.  5:30 or 6:00 am I was at his side in the hospital before work.  Then to work at 8:00 am, then at lunch at 12:00 pm back to his side and the after 5:00 pm to about midnight or one when I went home, repeated everyday.  It seemed like every 7 to 10 days a new milestone would happen.  First he opened his eyes, then started moving his fingers then his limbs and so forth.  He was still unresponsive and could not communicate, it was thought that everything up to this point was an autonomic response, but it was progress.  He was moved to a rehab facility and that’s where we saw a lot of progress.  I’ll recall his first meaningful communication then summarize the rest.  One day I was at his bedside and I thought lets try provoking him, I told him that the nurses were saying he was a wimp or something.  Just then he took his middle finger and flipped me off.  His first response since the accident was to give me the bird.   It was the greatest day, but it was still the beginning of a long journey that continues to this day and would bring me and my family to the brink of bankruptcy.

Over the course of the next months and years, many more milestones would occur.  They were frequent in the beginning but as time went on they slowed down but they still occur to this day.  This event was something that knocked me on my heels for a while consuming my time in dealing with doctors, therapists and lets not forget the insurance industry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment